The state of Washington has laws that may affect how much you can claim in your personal injury case. It is important to understand these rules if you want to get the financial restitution you deserve. The following are some key Washington state rules that might be relevant to your case.
Deadlines to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit- Washington state has a statute of limitations of three years. This deadline is reckoned from the date of the injury. Failure to file within this time can result in the loss of your right to have the matter heard in court.
Comparative Fault- Washington utilizes comparative fault rules in personal injury claims and lawsuits. This means that the court will determine the fault of all parties concerned by percentage. The damages you are able to collect are reduced if you are found to be partially at fault. For example, if you are awarded $10,000 and you are found to be 20% at fault, you will receive $8,000.
Strict Liability in Animal Attack Cases- Washington courts hold the owner of a dog or other animal responsible in the event of an attack. The owner remains liable regardless of whether they had prior knowledge of the animal being dangerous.
Damage Caps- Washington does not limit the amount of damages you can collect in your personal injury case. Such limits have been deemed to be illegal under the state constitution.
Government Liability in Personal Injury Cases- Washington has special rules in regards to personal injury claims against the government. You have three years to file your claim, but you must first file a notice of the claim in the county in which the accident occured. After filing your claim, you must wait an additional sixty days before you can file a lawsuit.
Contact us for representation in Washington.